♥ Rahua Voluminous Dry Shampoo – Review ♥

Rahua Dry Shampoo_AED220This product claims to be 100% natural Voluminous Dry Shampoo that adds volume, cleans and styles hair – all without water! The gluten-free, vegan formula is made with organic ingredients and state of the art natural dry shampoo technology. It is aerosol-free in a recyclable, eco-squeeze dispenser. Age-old plant based and mineral ingredients work together to absorb oil, sweat and dirt that accumulate throughout the day, leaving hair voluminous and refreshed, with a light, clean scent. Blends with all hair colors.

The ingredients in this dry shampoo are Fuller’s earth (Clay), Organic Tapioca Starch (Cassava root), Illicium Verum (Star Anise), Vanilla Planifolia, Citric Acid.

CASSAVA (Tapioca starch) is an edible root that has been a staple for Amazonian people for thousands of years. Organic, food-grade Cassava starch absorbs water, oil, sweat, and debris from the scalp and hair and builds a supportive base for long-lasting durable styles.

COSMETIC CLAY (Fuller’s Earth): Absorbs oil, sweat and dirt from the scalp and hair.

STAR ANISE: An ancient medicinal plant, used for its antiseptic properties and soft clean fragrance notes

To use the upper cap has to be twisted, then the bottle is shaked and squeezed to spray the dry shampoo on the roots and scalp. Work into hair to clean, lift and fluff. It creates fullness and adds the perfect grip for easy styling.

Price

AED220 for 51g

Available at?

House of Fraser at Yas Mall

You can visit their direct link here at www.rahua.com

My Experience

Dry shampoos have been around for a while but I never really gave into buying one. Mostly because I wash my hair frequently and the idea of putting powder in your scalp and just brushing it off did not really sound clean enough for me.

Anyway, I got this chance to try out a dry shampoo and what’s more exciting than getting to know it all 100% natural. My scalp is oily, so I cannot go more than 2 days without washing it. So I decided to try out this stuff the next day I washed my hair. As usual it was back to it’s oily self. I squeezed the powder into the entire scalp, gave a gentle massage with finger and combed my hairout (brushing did not help much).

For maybe half a day my hair looked like it has been shampooed well, it was all fluffy and non-greasy. But the scalp felt powdery. No matter how much I combed or brushed, not all powder was removed.  After a while (almost half a day) into the scalp making it feel all sticky and stiff! It did not feel clean at all.

The twist cap and squeeze technique also makes it difficult to control how much powder would be dispensed into the scalp. I think the best would be to take some into another container and use an makeup brush to dust the scalp with this stuff. This would ensure not too much product would go into the scalp evetually leading to this sticky stiff feeling.

Overall, I don’t think this would be a product I would really get into.

The ‘Wow’ factor

  • 100% natural product
  • Instant volume and fluffiness
  • Nice scent

The ‘Hugh’ factor

  • Expensive
  • Twist and squeeze mechanism does not give control over the powder dispensed on to scalp. I would prefer using a brush to apply the product.
  • Scalp feels powdery and after a while gets all sticky (possibly from the scalp producing oil again).

Recommend it?

It can be a good help for really busy people who want to give their hair a quick boost of fluffiness.

Rate It!

★★★☆☆ – 3 outta 5!!!

♥ Abidha Basheer ♥

Note: This product was given to me for review purposes but all opinions are 100% my own.

Love your feedback! Leave a comment n make me happy!

