♥ DIY – Body Scrub ♥

scrub

If you have read my Cozy Winter Tag post, you would’ve read about the body scurb I made and loved using.

I give all credits of this scrub to three people – Laura Vitale, Naznin Azeez and Michelle Phan!! (click on their names to be directed to their scrub recipes). I simply mixed up their recipes to make this one. Hugs and Kisses to you three!!!

This is how I made my scrub! The main ingredients here are sugar and oil. Other ingredients can be changed to your liking. You can try adding other oils, essentials oils for scent, lemon or orange zest, skip any ingredient you want. It is totally up to you.

  • ½ cup Coconut Oil
  • ½ cup Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Green Tea Leaves
  • ¼ cup Coffee Grounds
  • 1 tbsp. Olive Oil (you could use Almond Oil or Mustard Oil as well, it has amazing ability to enhance blood circulation and reduce Cellulite)
  • Lemon Juice as preferred

Combine the sugar, coffee grounds and green tea leaves in a bowl.

Melt the Coconut Oil. I usually just submerge the bottle in a bowl of hot water. You could microwave it too.

Pour the coconut oil and olive oil into the sugar mixture and mix well. It might look too liquidy at this point but it will harden as it cools. Store it in an air tight container once cooled. Store in a cool place and use it up within a month. I haven’t tried keeping it longer than that!

When you are about to use it, scoop out the required amount and add lemon juice. The amount of lemon juice will be according to the  liquid consistency you are comfortable with to handle.

After a quick splash of warm water on the body, start applying the scrub in circular motion. Start with the legs and move up. Scrub away until you feel the grains of sugar have softened and I like to leave it on for 10-15 minutes before washing off! This will help skin absorb the goodness of all ingredients!

When washing off the scrub, the oiliness will remain on skin. You can wash it off with soap, shower gel or besan (garbanzo beans flour) but I like to leave it on! Yes! I do! Since I like to leave it on, I wash my body first and then scrub. After wash and pat drying, I would slather on my body moisturizer while the skin is still damp. I have dry skin on my body so the more moisturized it is, the better I feel!

I know the whole process takes time! I personally try to do this atleast once a week. You will feel all pampered up!

Hope you liked this post!

♥ Abidha Basheer ♥

 

 

 

One thought on “♥ DIY – Body Scrub ♥

Love your feedback! Leave a comment n make me happy!

