♥ What’s in my Diaper bag? – 1 Year Toddler! ♥

20150608_180740

I was so excited about getting a diaper bag and filling it way before my delivery. 😀 I was hooked into watching different YouTube videos on this subject.

Towards the 34th week of my pregnancy I thought it was time I buy one and the necessary stuff before any emergency. I went to Babyshop – Abu Dhabi and scanned through a lot of bags. The diaper bag in my wishlist was something like the Coach diaper bag, but that was way too expensive I thought I might get a cheaper one like it. I wanted something stylish, elegant, spacious and not look like a diaper bag at first glance.

20150608_174739

But unfortunately I did get something like I wished for, but I finalized for this bag from Babyshop. It cost me AED150/-. It was elegant looking and did not scream pink or blue. It came with a diaper pad. It looked spacious enough – wrong! Though I love the quality of this bag, I wish it had more space. It is sturdy, water proof and strong but smaller for my requirements as a mother. I wish it had more compartments for mother and baby separately. I really wish I had invested more time into buying a diaper bag than just go grab one at the last minute.

080a3e23-b660-487a-bf32-6d505f7bf303

I thought the bag was big enough until I decided to go outing with my son. To the max I could fit in 2 dresses, 3 diapers, wipes and wrapping cloth in the main section, milk bottle, wallet and phone in the side pockets. That’s it! I couldn’t carry any more of his stuff like diaper cream, first aid emergency stuff, toys and small food containers. I can totally forget the dream of carrying my stuff like makeup purse, planner, sunglass, etc… If we were going on short trips like for 3 to 4 hours, I could manage with this. Any longer than that, I had to carry an extra bag with me.

As my son grows I needed to carry toys to keep him entertained and snack too which this bag doesn’t allow much! So my sincere advise to you guys would be not to under estimate the no. of stuffs you will need to carry. Size does matter here! I thought many times to change the bag, but this one was an expensive stuff and I’d feel guilty to buy another one and keep this without using. I am trying to manage with this one now and maybe I’ll give away after a fair amount of usage so that I don’t feel guilty.

Anyway to give you an idea of how I manage with this one, here’s a shot of the things I carry.

20150608_174607

  1. Diapers
  2. Baby Wipes – I carry the whole box. I have heard people talk about carrying just 10-15 wipes in packet for short trips. But that did not work with me, especially if he has a messy eating session, throws up or have a poopy explosion. Wipes also help the mothers to wipe stains from their hands, dresses and table tops!
  3. Diaper pad
  4. Sanitizer
  5. 3 or 4 diaper clothes
  6. 2 dresses
  7. Swaddling clothes. We don’t swaddle him anymore, I carry this like a blanket in case he sleeps or gets cold.
  8. Bibs
  9. Socks
  10. Baby hair brush
  11. A baby book and soft ball (temporary tantrum controllers)
  12. A flask of warm water
  13. 2 feeding bottles. One I use for solids, can’t carry a wider box in this.
  14. Water bottle
  15. A baby spoon
  16. My wallet and phone
  17. Tissues

20150608_175243

20150608_175254

20150608_175408
Can’t completely close the bag 😦

For longer trips I carry another bag. I cannot carry his toddler toys in this bag. I just toss them into the car and take it out where ever necessary.

  1. More diapers
  2. More diaper clothes
  3. More dresses (pajama type)
  4. More swaddling clothes
  5. Diaper cream
  6. Baby Sun block
  7. Nail clipper
  8. Snacks
  9. My makeup purse
  10. Planner
  11. Specs & Sunglass

20150608_180647

I hope you all enjoyed and benefited from this post.

Have a great day!

♥ Abidha Basheer ♥

Love your feedback! Leave a comment n make me happy!

