♥ Oil Pulling – My Experience! ♥

Oil Pulling

You may have already heard about oil pulling! Discussions have been going on about this in the beauty and health industry for sometime now. For those of you who don’t know what’s oil pulling – it is a process where you swish and swirl oil around in your mouth for 15-20 minutes on empty stomach.

According to Wikipedia, ‘Practitioners of oil pulling claim it is capable of improving oral and systemic health, including a benefit in conditions such as headaches, migraines, diabetes mellitus, asthma, and acne, as well as whitening teeth. Its promoters claim it works by pulling out “toxins”, which are known as ama in Ayurvedic medicine, and thereby reducing inflammation’.

I got to know first about Oil Pulling from the youtuber ‘Shannon Sullivan’. She said it had helped her to whiten her teeth, improve skin and overall health. I was like – WOW! If such a simple harmless thing can show such big results why not give it a try!

I started googling more about it and saw how many people benefitted from it. Some even claimed it cured their cavities (which is always deemed non curable!) and tooth sensitivity.

According to a website known as oilpulling.com, ‘In the morning, before breakfast on an empty stomach you take one tablespoon in the mouth but do not swallow it. Move Oil Slowly in the mouth as rinsing or swishing and Dr Karach puts it as ‘ sip, suck and pull through the teeth’ for fifteen to twenty minutes. This process makes oil thoroughly mixed with saliva. Swishing activates the enzymes and the enzymes draw toxins out of the blood. The oil must not be swallowed, for it has become toxic. As the process continues, the oil gets thinner and white. If the oil is still yellow, it has not been pulled long enough. It is then spit from the mouth , the oral cavity must be thoroughly rinsed and mouth must be washed thoroughly. Just use normal tap water and good old fingers to clean.

Clean the sink properly, you can use some antibacterial soap to clean the sink. Because the spittle contains harmful bacteria and toxic bodily waste. If one were to see one drop of this liquid magnified 600 times under a microscope, one would see microbes in their first stage of development.

It is important to understand that during the oilpulling / oilswishing process one’s metabolism is intensified. This leads to improved health. One of the most striking results of this process is the fastening of loose teeth, the elimination of bleeding gums and the visible whitening of the teeth.

The oil pulling /swishing is done best before breakfast. To accelerate the healing process, it can be repeated three times a day, but always before meals on an empty stomach.’

Shannon Sullivan stated that she used Coconut Oil. According to this website, they suggest using Sunflower or Sesame Oil.

So on to my experience with Oil Pulling:-

I tried both Coconut and Sesame oil. Sesame oil can be a little difficult with it’s distinct nutty taste. Coconut oil was easier for me. I switch between both now.

I have been doing this Oil Pulling for 6 months now! It was a little difficult to keep switching oil in my mouth for complete 20 minutes at first but now I have got used to it. First thing in the morning, before brushing my teeth I take a spoonful of Sesame Oil or Coconut Oil and start swishing as I go through my morning routine like making bed, washing face, washroom stuff, etc.. As you keep swishing, you can feel the oil thinning – this is because your saliva is mixing with it. It means you are doing it correct. I swish and swirl it through my teeth and tongue as much as possible. After 20 minutes I spit out the oil – it is supposed to look opaquish, liquidish and whitish. You need to wash this oil out from your sink properly as it is toxic. The oil is said to have absorbed the toxic wastes from your body – so you don’t want it to linger around and cause harm to others as well as yourself. Note that if you are using Coconut Oil you might want to spit it into the dust-bin than sink as many people say it can block your sink’s drainage but make sure to change the garbage bag soon. After this, though in many area they mention just to wash with water and finger, I go ahead and brush like usual.

unnamed
Sketch courtesy by my sister, Asmiya Basheer
unnamed - Copy
Sketch courtesy by my sister, Asmiya Basheer
unnamed - Copy (2)
Sketch courtesy by my sister, Asmiya Basheer
unnamed - Copy (3)
Sketch courtesy by my sister, Asmiya Basheer
unnamed - Copy (4)
Sketch courtesy by my sister, Asmiya Basheer

I used to have really sensitive teeth from the cleansing process at the dentist. When cold or hot stuff touched my teeth, it would give me chills. My teeth was yellowish and was developing black line stain near the gums. Also I had new cavities forming (others are already closed). I am truly seeing good results from doing Oil Pulling. My teeth sensitivity has reduced to a big extend! My teeth has started appearing whiter and the stains are reducing. I have also seen significant changes on my skin and lips. But what I am most happy about is the changes I have seen in my digestion and thyroid levels! I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and I am taking medication (Electrocin – 50mg) for more than 2 years now.

Recently I got my thyroid levels checked with my Gynecologist and I was surprise at the TSH count. Before taking medication my count was 5.0mlU/L. And throughout the time I took medication my count stayed at 2.5 to 3! Now when I checked it had reduced to 1.0mlU/L! Normal range is said to be between 0.3 – 3.04mlU/L.

I cannot completely guarantee this happened due to Oil Pulling. I am no expert. But the only new things that happened in my life was Oil Pulling and having a baby! Which one of these triggered this change I’m not sure but after googling some info, I could see some people talking about Oil Pulling improving their thyroid levels too. Anyway I haven’t stopped my medication. Once I get over with my current medication, I shall visit my doctor and see if she will reduce my dose or stop my medication. But until then I will not take any decision on my own. You shouldn’t too!

Anyway, I am really happy and used to the Oil Pulling method now. It has become a part of my morning routine. The results are slow but definitely worth it! I can’t feel the cavity that was forming now! Till now it is said that once a tooth decays you can’t revive it back, but I read some articles were people in favor of Oil Pulling argued if a fractured bone can heal why can’t the teeth. Many stated their experience on how they healed their cavities without having to get them drilled and filled! (ouch!) It did get me thinking, but as I said I am no expert – I am solely talking from the experiences I had. I cannot link all the articles I have gone through here because this post would never end then. Do google it up if you’d like to give Oil Pulling or OP a try!

It did improve my oral condition to a big extend and I love it!

If you intent on trying this out, please be careful never ever to swallow the oil. It is toxic and can cause problems to your health.

Stay healthy and happy!

♥ Abidha Basheer ♥

7 thoughts on “♥ Oil Pulling – My Experience! ♥

  1. Thank you Abidha again and again to share with us this useful information. This is the first time I’m hearing about it . I will start OP and share with you later my experience. I want to take this opportunity to appreciate your sister ASmiya for the nice expressive sketches.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woww…thank u so much for this is first time i m hearing abt this …definitely i m going to try this …very useful info. dear …loved ur review..God Bless U 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow.. Oil pulling reduced your thyroid effects.. Wow.. I’ve been planning on trying oil pulling for ages but always forget it.. Hehe..Silly me .. Now am motivated.. But oil in my mouth?? Ugghhhs…

    Like

Love your feedback! Leave a comment n make me happy!

